Free eSIM in the US: what the free offers actually include
A free eSIM in the US is a carrier trial, an ad-supported tier, or a paid plan with credit. Compare data, hotspot, length and eligibility.
Checked against official pages on October 21, 2026. Rules move; when this one does, it goes on the changelog.
There is no free eSIM that gives a US number and unlimited data forever. In the United States, free means one of three things: a carrier trial that lasts 7 to 30 days, an ad-supported free tier with a few hundred megabytes a day, or a paid eSIM with a referral credit. Only the first can replace a paid line for a month. The second can cover maps and messages, not YouTube. The third is not free.
The free offers, side by side
| Offer | What it is | Data | Hotspot | Length | Card | Number | Who qualifies |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| T-Mobile Trial | Carrier trial, eSIM | Unlimited talk, text and data; up to 4K streaming | Up to 250GB high-speed, then unlimited at 3G speeds | 30 days | Not required | Trial line; the page does not mention a port | Qualifying non-T-Mobile network user, compatible unlocked device, one per user |
| Visible Free Trial | Carrier trial, eSIM | Unlimited on the Visible plan | Unlimited, up to 5 Mbps | 15 days | Not required | Separate Visible number; your current service is not affected | Not a Visible member in the last 12 months; no trial in 12 months; in the US; eSIM phone |
| US Mobile Free Trial | Carrier trial, eSIM | 30GB total | 5GB | 30 days | AutoPay is on by default | Your number must transfer | New customer; Warp or Dark Star; numbers from NumberBarn, Ooma and TextNow are not eligible |
| Google Fi Trial | Carrier trial, eSIM | Unlimited high-speed up to 10GB, then slower | Hotspot for 10 devices | 7 days | Required | New trial number; your current number stays active | Not a Fi customer or trial user in the past 18 months; eSIM phone |
| Firsty Free | Ad-supported free tier, eSIM | 20MB per ad; up to 240MB balance and 360MB a day | Not stated on the free plan | Ongoing | Not required | Data-only; a phone number is not part of the offer we read | Supported sign-up country; eSIM phone |
unverified means the page we read does not state it. It does not mean the feature is absent.
What free actually costs
A trial is not a keeper. T-Mobile, Visible and Google Fi give you a trial line with a new number. Your bank, your university and your two-factor codes stay on your old number. US Mobile is the exception: it requires you to transfer your number, so it is a switch trial rather than a spare line.
AutoPay is the price of some free offers. US Mobile turns AutoPay on by default. Google Fi renews at $50 a month if you do not cancel before the seventh day. T-Mobile says no credit card and no commitment. Visible says no credit card, no contract and no auto-renewal.
The ad-supported tier is for messages, not video. Firsty Free earns 20MB per ad, caps the balance at 240MB and the day at 360MB, and runs at up to 1 Mbps. YouTube's own help page recommends 2.5 Mbps for 720p. At that bitrate, 360MB is about 19 minutes of video. The free tier is useful for maps, messaging and a ride request. It is not a YouTube plan.
A trial number is not a bank number. Capital One's one-time PIN page requires a US mobile number registered to your name on file, and rules out VOIP and Wi-Fi numbers. A temporary trial number is neither your number nor a number the bank has on file. Keep the number that receives your codes alive separately.
The strongest free offer for a road trip
The T-Mobile Trial is the free offer on this page with the largest hotspot allowance: up to 250GB of high-speed hotspot, then unlimited at 3G speeds, for 30 days. Visible's trial gives unlimited hotspot at 5 Mbps for 15 days, which is enough for 720p and exactly YouTube's 1080p recommendation. Google Fi gives hotspot for 10 devices for 7 days with a 10GB high-speed cap. Firsty Free cannot sustain 720p.
That makes the T-Mobile Trial the short-term answer for a car trip, with two conditions: you must be a qualifying non-T-Mobile network user, and the trial number is not the number your bank knows. The road-trip arithmetic is on eSIM for YouTube in the car.
The three mistakes
- Treating the trial as permanent. Every carrier trial on this page ends, and the number goes with it.
- Forgetting the renewal. Google Fi and US Mobile both have a default path to a paid plan. Read the cancellation step before you start.
- Using a free eSIM for video. A 1 Mbps ad-supported tier cannot sustain 720p, and a 360MB daily cap ends the stream quickly.
What we do not claim
We do not test speeds or coverage. The trial is the test. We do not call a referral credit a free plan. We do not list a free eSIM seller unless the offer is on the seller's own page with terms we can read. And we do not treat a trial number as a bank number.
Questions
Is there a free eSIM with unlimited data?
Only as a trial. T-Mobile runs 30 days, Visible 15 days, US Mobile 30 days with a 30GB cap, and Google Fi 7 days with a 10GB high-speed cap. No offer on these pages is free forever.
Which free trial lasts longest?
T-Mobile and US Mobile both list 30 days. Visible lists 15. Google Fi lists 7. The longest is not automatically the best: US Mobile requires a number transfer, and T-Mobile requires a qualifying non-T-Mobile user.
Can I keep my number on a free trial?
T-Mobile, Visible and Google Fi give you a trial number and leave your current line alone. US Mobile requires your number to transfer. Read that difference before you treat a trial as a spare line.
Can I use a free eSIM for YouTube in the car?
The T-Mobile Trial's 250GB high-speed hotspot can, for 30 days. Visible's 5 Mbps hotspot can for 15 days. Google Fi's 10GB hotspot cap is about 8.9 hours of 720p. Firsty Free cannot sustain 720p at 1 Mbps.
Can I receive bank codes on a free eSIM?
A trial number is temporary and is not the number your bank has on file. Capital One also rules out VOIP and Wi-Fi numbers for its code. Use the number that already receives your codes, or a prepaid line you control. The student matrix is on US phone plans for international students.
Do free trials require a credit card?
T-Mobile and Visible say no. US Mobile turns AutoPay on by default, so a payment method is part of the offer. Google Fi requires a credit card and renews at $50 a month if you do not cancel.
Is Firsty Free a US phone number?
The free plan is data. A phone number is not part of the offer we read. It is useful for maps and messages, not for a bank or a university that needs a US number.
Where the rest of the decision lives
The four routes for a working phone are on SIM, eSIM or a US prepaid plan. The student matrix is on US phone plans for international students. The data-first comparison is on US phone plans with the most data.